Ieoh Ming Pei

is often called the master of modern architecture. Pei has won a wide variety of

prizes and awards in the field of architecture, including the AIA Gold Medal in 1979,

the first Praemium Imperial for Architecture in 1989, and the Lifetime Achievement

Award from the Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum in 2003. In 1983, he won the

Pritzker Prize, sometimes called the Nobel Prize of architecture. With it’s award

US$100,000, Pei created a scholarship for Chinese students to study architecture

in the US, on the condition that they return to China to work


Major Works:

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Cleveland, Ohio

L’Enfant Plaze Hotel in Washington, DC

Green Building at MIT

National Center for Atmospheric Research in Colorado

John F. Kennedy Library in Massachusetts

Dallas City Hall

National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C

Herber F. Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University

Bank of China, Hong Kang

Glass-and-Steel Pyramid for the Musee du Louvre in Paris

Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center in Dallas

Miho Museum, Japan

Suzhou Museum, Suzhou

Museum of Islamic Art, Qatar

Javits Convention Center, New York

Macao Science Center, Macau